June 2014

These are the books the Children's Area staff reviewed in June 2014. Click on the "check the catalog" link to see if the book is available. If it isn't, ask a librarian to put it on hold for you.

Scroll past these book reviews to see an archive of all of the previous book reviews.

bookcover

The Almost Fearless Hamilton Squidlegger

This is a hilariously fun adventure for those reluctant to face the ever-dreaded bedtime! Hamilton Squidlegger is a funny frog-like creature who seems unafraid of anything. He can battle fierce fire-breathing frackensnappers, he can withstand the claws of a skelecragon... but- can he face the horrors of BEDTIME? What will he do when he is offered the most delectable, amazing, desirable treat of all time? Can he face bedtime alone? Will his adventuring reach an end? Both kids and adults will laugh aloud at the funny illustrations and ridiculous vocabulary. I want to say "frackensnappers" and "scrintalberries" every day. Definitely check this out.

Return to top

bookcover

Rooftoppers

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell is the perfect book to start summer reading. There's a shipwreck with an orphaned baby floating in the water, a strange scholar, eating off books, writing on walls, fleeing from police to France, fleeing from police in France, a secret world on rooftops, pigeons, cellos, a mother-mystery spanning 12 years, and, of course, buttons! Rundell's prose is simple and profound with the makings of an instant classic. Fans of Lemony Snicket or Neil Gaiman will fall in love with this elegant, exciting narrative.

Return to top

bookcover

Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers' Strike of 1909

When Clara Lemlich and her family moved to America, they were surprised to find that, though there was little work available for Clara's father, companies were hiring young girls like Clara to make clothes in factories. Clara was angered by the poor way she and the other garment factory girls were treated, so she spoke out about the bad conditions and organized strikes. Brave Girl tells the story of an courageous young girl from history who saw wrongdoing and set out to change it.

Return to top